NexGen Orbit Labs LogoNexGen Orbit Labs
← Blog
expense-trackerandroidprivacysubscriptions

Subscription Trackers Without an Account

Suby, Tilla and the two apps named SubFox verified against live listings: platform, offline mode, account, export, price. Plus where BrainTox keeps subscriptions.

October 11, 2026 · NexGen Orbit Labs

A subscription tracker keeps a list of the services that charge you on a schedule and reminds you before each charge. The niche has settled on a shape of its own: a list you build yourself, renewal reminders, and a bank login that no one asks for. This page verifies Suby, Tilla and the two apps that share the SubFox name against pages they own, then shows where BrainTox keeps subscriptions inside a full offline expense tracker.

One of the five apps in the table is ours, and its section below names that bias again.

Subscription creep, by the numbers

Subscription creep rarely arrives as one number. It is a stack of small authorized payments: a couple of dollars here, twelve there, a trial that was free in March and billed itself in April, an annual renewal whose terms you approved eleven months ago. The expense trackers in our flagship comparison face all spending at once; the niche on this page targets the slice that renews without asking.

Suby’s store listings rewrote their opening between the 2026-10-10 fetch and the current pages: the earlier fetch still showed them opening on the pitch that the average person “pays for 12+ subscriptions but actively uses fewer than half” and that “trials expire silently”; the current listings open with “Suby is a private subscription tracker and manager”. The pitch was marketing copy, but it named the mechanism the whole category organizes against, and the scale comes from separate sources: 1,057 services ready to add by name in Suby’s catalog (the developer’s site), tens of thousands of installs on Tilla’s Play listing. A renewal calendar works the way an exam schedule does: most people can name their services from memory, and still want the next charges gathered in one place.

What a subscription tracker does

The job comes in one paragraph. You keep a list of services, each with a price, a currency, a billing cycle, the next charge date and a note or two. The app tallies the monthly total and sends a reminder before each renewal: three days ahead by default in Suby, a highly customizable reminder schedule in Tilla, and the reminders each SubFox variant documents. Beyond that core, the apps compete on convenience: Suby adds seven free home-screen widgets, a screenshot import that makes you review every row before saving, and an intro-price tracker that announces when a promo ends; Tilla bundles a long list of preset services so the price fields fill themselves; the Play variant of SubFox counts budget planning among its features.

Everything above relies on self-reporting. You enter what you know you pay for, and the app’s value is remembering the dates and doing the arithmetic.

Why the bank stays out of it

Recurring charges are the easiest category of spending to track by hand. You know the merchant, the amount and the schedule, and the list holds a dozen rows, not thousands. Bank automation solves a different problem: an app that reads a live feed of transactions needs pattern recognition to find the recurring ones among noise. Suby’s FAQ puts the difference plainly: “No. Suby never reads your bank, cards or subscription providers.” A reviewer under Tilla’s premium listing made the contrast with the connected tier of the market: “I was going to use Rocket Money, but they make you input your card/bank info. This app doesnt!” There is a third route too, statement scanning, which our page on roast budget apps covers through SaveGuard’s CSV-upload approach.

One honest boundary follows. “No bank login” and “nothing leaves the device” are different claims. Suby’s privacy policy, last updated 30 September 2026, lists Amplitude analytics that it turns on by default, crash reports through Sentry and Firebase Crashlytics, and a screenshot- and statement-import path where “a PDF, or a file Suby can’t read locally, is sent to Suby’s server and passed to Anthropic to pick out recurring charges”. Tilla’s Play data-safety section says the app may share Personal info and Device or other IDs with third parties, and collects no data. SubFox on Play writes “No ads, no tracking, and privacy-focused experience” in its description and lists shared App activity, App info and performance, and Device or other IDs in the data-safety section above it. The list-and-reminder core runs locally in all of these; the telemetry is where they differ, and each source above is named in the section for its app.

How this page was verified

Every product below was checked on 2026-10-11 against a page it owns: a Google Play or App Store listing, or the developer’s site. Facts in the sections and in the table come from those pages; where a page is silent on a feature, the table cell says “not stated” instead of guessing. We link the official sites we verified; store listings are cited by name.

One detail needed care: two different apps from two different developers carry the SubFox name. Each got its own row and its own section.

Suby: two app stores and a catalog

Suby ships on both stores: Google Play (5K+ downloads, listing updated October 2026) and the App Store for iPhone (iOS 15.6+). Both listings carry the core position in one bullet, verbatim: “Your data stays on your device. No account needed to start”, with “no bank or card connection” right behind it. The free tier covers unlimited catalog subscriptions with no ads; the cap the site names lives elsewhere, “three custom services for anything not in the catalogue”. Suby Premium, reached after a 7-day trial, adds encrypted cloud backup, unlimited custom services and screenshot imports, live exchange rates and full rate history, the currency map, longer chart ranges, the subscription health score, widget settings and invite links for shared plans, for $1.99 a month or $14.99 a year: the site, the Play listing (“PREMIUM: $1.99 a month or $14.99 a year, 7-day free trial”) and the iOS listing now print the same pair. Where an account does come in, the features FAQ answers exactly: “An account is only needed for cloud backup and for shared groups that other people join”. The account question has one privacy clause attached: the site’s FAQ says cloud backup data is “encrypted in transit and at rest” and that it “is not end-to-end encrypted”. The Play data-safety section names App info and performance plus Device or other IDs as data the app may share.

The catalog is the draw. With 1,057 services ready to add by name, the price and billing period often fill themselves, and 94 currencies keep totals aligned to your home currency. The September Play update added bank-statement import with price-rise and trial warnings, a warning when a store payment fails, and a duplicate-subscription spotter. The pricing page’s FAQ answers the tier question inside the free column: “Creating a backup file, restoring it and exporting to CSV are free, with no account and no limit”, and the updated listings state the export in their own words: “Export to CSV and make local backups any time, free”.

Tilla: Android, one-time premium

Tilla by Pavlo Rekun (Vinnytsia, Ukraine) has the most installs of the set’s Android apps: 50K+ downloads and an Editors’ Choice label on the Play listing. The model differs from Suby’s: the premium tier is a separate store listing, Tilla Premium, sold as a one-time $4.99 purchase rather than a subscription plan. Its bullets are explicit about what the base app omits: an unlimited count of subscriptions, Analytics, cloud synchronization between devices, and local backups on a device.

The listing itself carries the framing “without any limitations”, while reviewers under it describe a free tier capped at five entries and no backup or restore without the premium app; those limits are user reports, and we mark them as such. The developer’s FAQ page does not render without JavaScript, so this section follows the listing text instead. Where the table wants two columns the listing does not fill, it stays empty on purpose: “works offline” and “no account” are not stated on the pages we checked, even though nothing in the listing describes a sign-in step outside the premium cloud sync.

SubFox: one name, two apps

The name belongs to two products. One SubFox (subfox.app, developer Athar Gul Zaman) is iPhone-only per its store listing (“Only for iPhone”, iOS 15.6+). Its site and FAQ say the core works offline: “All your subscription data is stored locally on your device”. Pricing, from the App Store listing: Free, Pro Weekly at $5.99 per week with a 7-day free trial, and a one-time Lifetime plan for $14.99. The site’s FAQ answers the export question by naming future work: “We’re working on adding export features in future updates”. The App Store label reports ads present, and Identifiers, Usage Data and Diagnostics as data “not linked to you”. The site claims Play availability too and shows a Play rating of 4.5 from 10 reviews, without naming the listing; we could not verify which Play listing it refers to.

The SubFox on Google Play, “Subscription Tracker: SubFox” by Coding Guruji, is a different app under the same name: listing updated August 2026, a few thousand installs. Its text is the most explicit of the set about local storage: “Completely offline subscription tracker with local-only storage”, “No account required”, “No ads, no tracking”. The description promises backup and restore support, and a developer reply under a review keeps tracking free “for up to 5 subscriptions”, in line with the five-entry pattern other apps use. Its data-safety section, quoted above in the bank paragraph, discloses shared app activity and device identifiers next to those sentences, and lists Financial info among the data it may collect. One name covers two privacy postures, which is why the table carries two rows.

The comparison table

App Platform Works offline No account Export of your data Price
BrainTox (ours) Android ✅ ✅ ✅ CSV + full JSON backup Free
Suby Android, iPhone ✅ (both listings) ✅ for tracking; account for cloud backup and joining shared plans CSV + backup file + restore free (pricing FAQ; the updated listings state export in the free bullets too) Free; Premium $1.99/mo or $14.99/yr (site, both listings)
Tilla Android not stated not stated not stated (local backups are Premium) Free; Premium app $4.99 one-time
SubFox (subfox.app) iPhone ✅ (site, listing) not stated none yet (FAQ: in progress) Free; Pro $5.99/wk (App Store); Lifetime $14.99
SubFox (Google Play) Android ✅ (listing) ✅ (listing) backup and restore (listing) Free; paid tier not stated

Cells follow what each page showed on 2026-10-11. A “not stated” cell means the page is silent, not that the feature is missing.

The table reads in two directions. There is no bank column because none of the five apps asks for one: connected budget apps are built on a live bank feed, and that shared subtraction is what separates the niche from subscription hunters riding it. And the export column sorts by what each page names. Our row carries a format and a scope (CSV plus a full JSON backup); Suby’s pricing FAQ answers with CSV, backup files and restore inside the free tier; the rest names less: premium backups at Tilla, in-progress export at subfox.app, backup and restore without a named format at SubFox on Play.

Where BrainTox fits

BrainTox is ours, so trade-offs come first. A dedicated subscription tracker does some jobs with less friction: its catalog fills price fields for you, its widgets put renewals on the home screen, and its screens exist only for renewals. BrainTox has no service catalog, no screenshot import and no split-plan settlement; you type the service name, the amount and the cycle yourself, the way you do for every other transaction.

The trade buys a different home for the same list. Subscriptions in BrainTox are recurring expenses inside a full tracker: local database, no account, no analytics and no crash reporting, local scheduled push reminders, weekly summaries over the complete spending picture, 54 currencies, and exports to CSV plus a full JSON backup that leaves the phone only when you run them. It speaks English and Ukrainian, runs on Android 7.0 and above, and every feature is unlocked from the first install.

Subscriptions, tracked like the rest of the ledger

  • No account: entries live in a database on the phone, and exports, imports or shares you run yourself are the only things that leave it.
  • Recurring subscriptions, bills and rent with local reminders.
  • CSV export and a full JSON backup you can restore.
  • Free on Google Play, with three toxicity levels of optional sarcasm you can mute.

Download BrainTox on Google Play · See all BrainTox features

How to choose

  • You want pre-filled service data and the lightest possible entry. Suby: a catalog of 1,057 services, screenshot import, both stores covered. Read its privacy policy once; analytics runs by default.
  • You prefer one-time payments on Android. Tilla Premium at $4.99 once replaces the five-entry cap reviewers describe in the base app; local backups ride with Premium.
  • Your phone is an iPhone and you want local data with a one-time purchase option. The subfox.app SubFox: Pro weekly or a $14.99 Lifetime plan; export remains in progress as of the verification date.
  • Your subscriptions belong inside the whole money picture. BrainTox, where renewals sit next to income, categories, weekly summaries and full export in the free tier.

For the wider offline ledger, our flagship comparison of six verified offline expense trackers covers the full category, the page on roast budget apps covers the genre that comments on your spending, and what makes an Android app architecturally private explains the pattern behind the no-account column above.

Subscription tracker FAQ

What is a no-account subscription tracker? An app that keeps a list of your recurring services and their renewal dates in a database on the phone, with no sign-up, no email and no cloud step in the base flow. The test mirrors the one we use for expense trackers: cold-launch the app in airplane mode, add a subscription, open the calendar and run the export. A feature that needs a server fails in front of you.

Do any of these need my bank login? None of the five apps in the table connects to a bank. Suby answers the omission in its own FAQ; the reviewer quote under Tilla’s premium listing contrasts the manual model with Rocket Money’s card-and-bank flow; the closest the set comes to bank data is Suby’s optional statement, screenshot and email-scan import, which its privacy policy routes through Suby’s server and Anthropic. People who want renewals discovered for them can take the statement-scanning route, and our roast page carries that comparison.

What do the free versions include? Free here has four shapes. Suby: unlimited catalog subscriptions, three custom services, CSV export and local backup; the rest of the premium set begins behind a 7-day trial at $1.99 a month or $14.99 a year. Tilla: five entries per user reviews, with unlimited counts, analytics, sync and backups in the $4.99 one-time premium app. SubFox on Play: five subscriptions per the developer’s reply, with backup support in the base. SubFox on iPhone: free core, $5.99 weekly Pro, $14.99 Lifetime.

Where do subscriptions belong in a full expense tracker? As one class of transactions among the rest. In BrainTox a subscription is a recurring entry with a local reminder, sitting next to income, categories and weekly summaries of all spending, and the export carries it out with everything else. That is the concrete version of the trade named above: the dedicated apps build the best renewal list, the full tracker builds one ledger where renewals already account for themselves.

BrainTox: expenses without an account

A local expense tracker with sarcastic commentary. Data on the device, export to CSV and JSON.