NexGen Orbit Labs LogoNexGen Orbit Labs
← Blog
expense-trackerandroidprivacyhumor

Roast Budget Apps for Android, Compared

Roast budget apps verified against live listings: platforms, bank connections, prices, data exits. Plus where a no-account Android roast tracker fits in the genre.

October 11, 2026 · NexGen Orbit Labs

A roast budget app comments on your spending the way a blunt friend would: log an expense, get a punchline about it. The genre is alive and crowded, and almost everything in it is built for a world where your bank feed is the default: pull transactions from Plaid, run an AI over them, deliver the roast to an iPhone. This page verifies six entries in the genre against live pages, then shows where our own Android roast tracker fits.

Why roast budget apps exist

Budgeting apps lose people for a boring reason: logging numbers feels like homework, and a chart stops motivating on day three. Roast apps attack exactly that. The core feature in every product below is a personality that reacts to your transactions: an AI that sends witty commentary, an angry koala with an honesty scale, a weekly shame report. The shared bet is that a laugh changes the next purchase faster than a graph does.

The joke ships with a disclaimer. OopsMoney’s App Store listing calls its AI “a comedic persona designed for personal entertainment and motivation”. WalletRoast’s homepage ends with “entertainment, not financial advice”. We build one of the products below, so take our section with the same pinch of salt. The premise across this set stays the same: the roast is feedback on records that already exist, from expense logs you typed yourself or from a bank feed. These apps do not move your money; they manage your mood about it.

What “verified” means here

Each app below was checked on 2026-10-11 against a page it owns: a Google Play or App Store listing, or the product’s official site where no store listing would load. Facts in this article and in the table come from those pages. Where a page is silent on a feature, the table cell says “not stated” instead of guessing. We link the official sites we could verify; store listings are cited by name.

The roast apps, verified

OopsMoney: Android and iPhone

OopsMoney publishes on Google Play as AgileSolver; the App Store credits Cheung Hoi Kit, and the site link above is the developer’s own from the Play listing. The Play listing pitches a “tough love” personal finance app: AI feedback on every expense you log, a Want vs. Need calculator, and a time-is-money converter that re-prices purchases in hours of work against your hourly wage. The iOS listing renames the calculator to the “Idiot Tax” and adds a Personal Wall of Shame, plus a Pro subscription at $3.99 a month or $22.99 a year, with iOS 15.0 or later required.

Data safety on the Play listing: no data shared with third parties, and personal info plus financial info on the collected list. The iOS privacy label goes further: purchases, contact info, identifiers and usage data may be used to track you across apps and websites, and analytics adds advertising data and crash data. Neither listing states where the AI feedback is generated.

Roast My Statement: Android, early access

SaveGuard carries the genre’s most careful position: no bank login. Export a CSV from your bank’s website, upload it, and the roast names what it finds: forgotten subscriptions, free trials about to convert, price hikes, charges that survived a cancellation, overlapping services. SaveGuard is in early access on Android by invitation, iOS is announced as coming, and there is no store listing to check yet. Three free roasts a month, no card required. The page says the upload needs no username or password, and account deletion is available at any time.

Asper: bank-connected AI

Asper personifies the roast: “a pink, mildly-angry koala” with an honesty scale from polite suggestions to brutal truths. Its own site is explicit about the plumbing: connect your bank account for real-time tracking, and pricing runs free tier plus $4.99 a month. The FAQ adds a detail worth quoting: some anonymized data is processed using OpenAI. On the verification date we could not confirm its store listings: no Google Play listing appeared in store search or under the package id recorded by store mirrors (both returned not found), and Apple’s store search did not surface the app in its finance category, so the table marks the platform “not stated”.

CashRoast: iPhone only

CashRoast, published by Andrew Vu on the App Store, connects to your bank and roasts you the moment a transaction lands: a shame score from 1 to 100 on every purchase, a weekly shame report every Sunday, spending analytics and clean-streak rewards. The listing’s persona menu (default, “Gordon Ramsay”, “disappointed parent”, “Wall Street bro”, “life coach”) carries a Pro marker, and multiple bank accounts are marked Pro too. The listing states bank-level security through Plaid and requires iOS 15.1 or later. Export of your records is not mentioned.

ROA$TED: iPhone only

ROA$TED sells the heaviest package in the genre: automatic bank sync through Plaid, receipt photos that keep their line items, weekly reviews split into green, yellow and red zones, and a business space with mileage tracking and invoices on top. The App Store listing prices the personal subscription at $22.99 a month or $179.99 a year, with a business tier above that. The site promises no ads and no data sales. The App Store privacy label lists purchase history, other financial info, contact info and user ID as data that may be collected, linked to identity, and used for the developer’s advertising or marketing. Requires iOS 17.4 or later.

WalletRoast: the web version

WalletRoast keeps the roast in the browser: connect your bank for read-only access, then a roast report with savings math, subscription hunting, a financial horoscope and a haul calculator. Two claims sit next to each other on the homepage: “Secure, read-only access” and “Your individual transactions never leave your device. We only see aggregated summaries.” We quote both and note what the page leaves open: the platform, any store listing, and the subscription price past a no-card free trial.

The comparison table

App Platform Bank connection No account Price Export of your data
BrainTox (ours) Android needs none ✅ Free ✅ CSV + full JSON backup
OopsMoney Android, iPhone not stated not stated Free; Pro $3.99/mo or $22.99/yr (iOS listing) not stated
Roast My Statement (SaveGuard) Android, early access by invite none, CSV upload instead account exists (deletable) 3 free roasts a month CSV goes in, nothing stated on the way out
Asper not stated ✅ (site FAQ) not stated Free + $4.99/mo (site) not stated
CashRoast iPhone ✅ via Plaid not stated Free + Pro purchase not stated
ROA$TED iPhone ✅ via Plaid not stated $22.99/mo or $179.99/yr (AU listing) not stated
WalletRoast not stated (web) ✅ (homepage claim) not stated no-card free trial; price not stated not stated

Cells reflect what the live pages said on 2026-10-11. “Not stated” means the listing is silent, not that the feature is missing.

Two lines run through that table. Bank feeds are the default plumbing: four of six assume a bank connection, and the remaining two get their data another way: manual logging for OopsMoney, a CSV upload for SaveGuard. And the export column is empty everywhere except our row: every page tells you what the app will say about your money, and none of the six states how to take the records out.

Where BrainTox fits

BrainTox is our entry, so score this section with the same suspicion you gave the others. It is an Android expense tracker built the other way around: no account, no bank connection, every record in a local database. The roast engine runs on the device too. Amounts land in bands (micro, small, medium, large) against thresholds stored with each currency, and the currency catalog holds 54 currencies across six purchasing-power tiers (the Play listing rounds it to 50+). Practical meaning: under the hryvnia tier a user can log ₴1,199 and still earn the “small purchase” roast that a dollar user gets at $29.99.

BrainTox tracks expenses, income, subscriptions, recurring charges and a regret score you assign yourself; weekly summaries arrive with sarcastic commentary, and three toxicity levels decide how hard the roast bites, down to off. The interface is English and Ukrainian. It runs on Android 7.0 and above, it is free on Google Play, its data-safety section reports no data shared and no data collected, and the exit exists: CSV export plus a full JSON backup.

Why we built it this way

  • No account: records live in a local database, and data leaves only through exports, imports and shares you run yourself.
  • No bank connection: roasts react to what you log, and the roast engine runs on the device.
  • Roast thresholds follow the currency: 54 currencies in six purchasing-power tiers.
  • CSV export plus a full JSON backup you can restore.

Download BrainTox on Google Play · See all BrainTox features

How to choose

  • Android user who wants the humor without the plumbing. BrainTox logs on the device, roasts on the device, and keeps a full export in the free tier.
  • Android user who wants a lighthearted tracker and accepts the labels. OopsMoney is store-listed on Android with AI feedback on logged expenses; the collection labels are above, weigh them yourself.
  • iPhone user with a US bank who wants automatic roasts. CashRoast for the shame-score format, ROA$TED for the full coach with receipts and business mileage.
  • Hunting subscriptions more than coffees. SaveGuard’s Roast My Statement targets the waste hiding in a statement CSV; join the early access while it is by-invitation and iOS still exists only as an announcement. The wider no-account category has its own page: subscription trackers without an account, with Suby, Tilla and the two apps named SubFox at the table.

If the humor matters less than the privacy architecture, our flagship comparison of six verified offline expense trackers covers the same stance without the genre, and the guide to what makes an Android app architecturally private explains the pattern behind the no-bank-connection choice.

Roast budget app FAQ

What is a roast budget app? An expense tracker whose core feature is personality: it reacts to each transaction with sarcastic or harsh commentary instead of plain charts. In the verified set, the roast lines are AI-generated over a bank feed (Asper, CashRoast, ROA$TED, WalletRoast), about data you hand over (SaveGuard’s CSV upload), or stated as AI feedback without a named source (OopsMoney). Most treat the output as entertainment with motivation attached.

Do roast apps need my bank login? Four of the six verified entries are bank-connected: Asper, CashRoast, ROA$TED and WalletRoast, the last one as homepage copy. Two need no login at all: OopsMoney works on expenses you log yourself, and SaveGuard’s Roast My Statement works on a CSV you export by hand. BrainTox is in the same family as those two, minus the upload: no account, no bank connection, roasts generated on the device.

Is being roasted useful, or only funny? The genre’s own disclaimers answer first: entertainment and motivation, not financial advice. The useful part is timing. A specific line about yesterday’s delivery order interrupts a habit sooner than a monthly report does, and that is the entire engineering bet behind these apps. BrainTox rates each roast’s usefulness through the regret score you assign yourself, so the feedback loop includes your own verdict.

What should you check before installing a roast app? Four things, in order. Where it runs: the genre is iPhone-heavy; two apps ship on Android, and a third lands there by invitation. Where the data goes: the privacy label above matters more than the jokes. How the roast gets made: bank feed, cloud upload or on-device. And the exit: ask about the export before you install, because none of the six listings names one.

BrainTox: expenses without an account

A local expense tracker with sarcastic commentary. Data on the device, export to CSV and JSON.